SCYSL History

History of Santa Clara Youth Soccer League

The 2017 Fall Season represents the 37th Season for the Santa Clara Youth Soccer League. The Santa Clara Youth Soccer League was organized and incorporated in 1980. Santa Clara Youth Soccer League is a league organized under the charter of the California Youth Soccer Association (CYSA-N) and within the District II boundary. District II is one of 9 districts in the Cal-State North section of CYSA.  District II covers the counties between San Mateo County (north) and Monterey County (south). District II is divided into 16 home leagues. A Board of Directors directs both the Santa Clara Youth Soccer League and CYSA-District II.

The California Youth Soccer Association, Incorporated (CYSA- N) is affiliated with the United States Youth Soccer Association (USYSA), the United States Soccer Federation (USSF) and the Federation Internationale de Soccer Association (FIFA). CYSA is a non-profit corporation supported through player registration fees, league fees, sponsorships and donations. Our goal is to provide an opportunity for youth players of all levels of skill to participate in soccer programs. CYSA- N is one of the largest youth soccer state organizations with more than 200,000 players participating. District 2 serves nearly 26,000 administrators and youth players covering the Counties of Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Benito, Santa Cruz and Monterey providing rewarding recreational and competitive opportunities for boys and girls 4 to 18 years old.

The CYSA District II program consists of the following levels of play: recreational, competitive, and select play. In addition, the Olympic Development Program (ODP) is a CYSA program that feeds into the national teams programs for U14 through U17 age CYSA program that feeds into the national teams programs for U14 through U 17 age groups. Throughout its history, District II has developed and has been honored to have many national, collegiate, and world -class players. From the developmental recreational leagues through our competitive/select teams and the Olympic Development Program, District II teams and players have excelled at every level. These efforts have been inspired by the dedication of players, coaches and parents alike.

SCYSL Board of Directors

2017-18 Santa Clara Youth Soccer League Board of Directors

Updated: September 2017

Santa Clara Youth Soccer League
PO Box 2014, Santa Clara, California, 95055-2014

Monthly Board of Directors Meetings

The SCYSL Board of Directors is a volunteer run organization that meets at 7pm on the third Wednesday of each month at the Panera Bread Restaurant loctaed at 2002 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050.

Everyone is Welcome to attend our meeting and if you would like to join the meeting or have interest in helping out our league, please contact Steve Robertson, SCYSL Vice President at

SCYSL Executive Board Members

Board of Directors

Cal-North and Santa Clara Sporting Liason Matt Heintz
U6 Age Group Coordinator Elise Mello
U8 Age Group Coordinator Kerry Washington
U10 Boys Age Group Coordinator Danny Avictia

U10 Girls Age Group Coordinator

Mario Samora

U12+ Age Group Coordinator

Louis Samara

TOP Soccer Program Coordinator Brian Emgushov
League Registrar Wendy Amick
Director of Coaching Steve Robertson
Referee Coordinator Bob Sherman
Referee & Field Scheduling Coordinator Burt Field
Awards & Uniform Coordinator Dave Stiver
Equipment Coordinator Ruben Mendoza
Photo & Volunteer Coordinator OPEN
Marketing, & Communications Gabe Foo
Player Development Coordinator John Slegg
Accountant Theresa Bui





Club Sponsors